The first game ever played in this iconic stadium was on October 4, 1930, when Knute Rockne’s Fighting Irish defeated SMU 20-14. Notre Dame would go undefeated that season and win the national championship – one of nine Notre Dame teams to win the championship since the stadium opened. Seven Heisman winners, including the legendary Paul Hornung called this stadium home; as did non-Heisman winner Rudy Ruettiger, for whom the movie “Rudy” was based. “Touchdown Jesus” continues to oversee the stadium from above the end zone each Saturday as memories and legends continue to be made each passing year.