On May 24, 1980 in the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum on Long Island, Bobby Nystrom scored 7:11 into overtime of Game 6 of the NHL Finals vs. the Philadelphia Flyers to give the New York Islanders their first ever Stanley Cup Championship, just eight years after the team was founded. Nystrom’s dramatic goal not only won the Stanley Cup, but also started one of the most memorable dynasties in sports history. Led by Hall of Fame Head Coach Al Arbour, the Islanders won four consecutive Stanley Cups from 1980-1983. Hockey fans will fondly remember that this team included Hall of Famers Mike Bossy, Bryan Trottier, Denis Potvin, Billy Smith, and many other talented players. After winning four straight Stanley Cups, the Islanders advanced to the 1984 NHL Finals, but lost to Wayne Gretzky and the upstart Edmonton Oilers, hockey’s next dynasty. The loss snapped the Islanders incredible streak of 19 postseason series in a row.